Jim’s Journal, June 18th, 2024

Despite Carson Spiers throwing 74 strikes in his 104 pitches in Monday’s Reds game in Pittsburgh, and coaches saying Spiers showed “impressive growth” since last year, none of that was enough to beat the Pirates, Cincinnati falling 4 to 1.  The 2 clubs are now within a game of each other–  the Reds 34 & 38 on the season, the Pirates 35 & 37.  Tonight, the clubs will each start left-handed pitching–  Bailey Falter for Pittsburgh, Nick Lodolo for the Reds.  Nick’s 7 & 2 on the season with a 2.93 ERA, and Falter’s gone 3 & 4 so far.  The broadcast begins at 6:10 this evening, on the Sports Voice, 103.9 WRBI.


There was more local swim action Monday evening, as Hidden Valley Lake’s Gators visited Milan Aquatics.  And Milan capsized Hidden Valley, taking its 3rd straight win, this time 868 points to 626.  Milan won 11 of the 17 relays, and 47 out of 64 individual races.  For Milan, Elizabeth McKittrick, Lindsey Franklin, Taylor Stock, Seth Thomas, and Brody Stock won 4 events apiece…  Drew Poole, Ross Lieland and Caiden Felver each won 3.  The girls 6 & under freestyle winner was Milan’s Bridget Beiser, Alexis Schiller won the girls 14 & under 50 breaststroke, and the coaches said all the Milan swimmers looked strong–  especially Archer Austin, Addy Laws, Justin Hicks, and Ava Mutz.  Next for Milan, a visit to South Dearborn High School tomorrow, where they’ll face the Dragons swim club.


Some coaching changes in the South Ripley schools…  Brad Goldsberry is the new girls’ varsity basketball coach for the Raiders, succeeding Matt McNew.  Coach Goldsberry had been an assistant on McNew’s staff, and teaches business classes at South Ripley High.  Also, the Raiders’ baseball coach Jeff GhrEYEvee has resigned, and the vacancy’s been posted.


The US Olympic swim team for Paris next month came together a bit more with additional Monday night results in that massive Lucas Oil Stadium pool.  Katie Ledecky won the women’s 200 meter freestyle, followed by Claire Weinstein, Ledecky also winning the 400 meter freestyle, with Paige Madden second.  The women’s 100-meter breaststroke was captured by Lilly King, the 100 butterfly by Gretchen Walsh.  Top men’s qualifiers included Luke Hobson winning the 200 meter freestyle, with Chris Guiliano only about .4 of a second behind…  the 400 free going to Aaron Shackell, who finished just .3 ahead of Kieran Smith.  The lead finisher in the 100-meter backstroke for men was Ryan Murphy, hundred breaststroke going to Nic Fink.  And Fink was only .08 of a second ahead of second-place Charlie Swanson in that race.


And if you’d like to learn who the just-completed school year’s top spring performers were across the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference, their names and sports are posted below.  Congrats to all!!


The 2024 EIAC Spring All-Conference list…



#1 SINGLES – Payton Pies – East Central

#1 RUNNER-UP – Mary Harmon – Greensburg

#2 SINGLES – Kelsey Scholl – East Central

#3 SINGLES – Isabella Starr – Connersville

#1 DOUBLES – Janae Comer & Mya Comer – Greensburg

#2 DOUBLES – Maddie Noel & Eve Steinmetz

Team Champions: Lawrenceburg

MVP: Payton Pies – East Central



East Central

Anna Graf
Callie Bentley
Jorjia Ferguson
Lauryn Huber
Sarah Albrink



Kaylie Raver
Bayleigh Demaree
Paige Allgeier
Megan Allgeier


Franklin County

Audrey Harper
Ella Flannery
Taylan Brewer
Mackenzie Brzezinski
Emma Rosenberger



Morgan Manford



Emarie Jackson


Team Champions: East Central

MVP: Jorjia Ferguson & Callie Bentley – East Central



Greensburg 10-4

Harper Adams
Carlee Adams
Alexis Condon
Emma McQueen
Kirkley Lowe


East Central 10-4

Montana Plymale
Lexi Hatmaker
Payge Callahan
Delaney Donawerth
Emily Klem


Connersville 9-5

Bre Brock
Rayleigh Bresher
Carmen Ruble


Lawrenceburg 9-5

Brooklyn Couch
Meghan Heinsman
Ava Hall


South Dearborn 9-5

Ava Cutter
Lakota Vincent
Corryn Lee


Franklin County 5-9

Brooke Stang
Mckensee Ferman


Rushville 3-11

Becca Tabeling


Batesville 1-13

Calli Fletcher


Team Champion: Greensburg

Team Champion: East Central

MVP: Harper Adams – Greensburg



The 2024 boys EIAC all-conference list is below…


Cameron Williamson – Lawrenceburg
Colten Schroeder – Greensburg
Hunter Springmeyer – Greensburg
Brad Fite – East Central
Trey Hughes – Connersville
Stone Wilhelm – East Central
Ian Hixson – Batesville
Conner Graves – Connersville
Leo Moody – Batesville
Will Tufts – Lawrenceburg
Gavin Gillman – Franklin County
Jon Moody – Batesville
Team champions: Batesville

Team Champions: East Central

Medalist: Cameron Williamson – Lawrenceburg



East Central

Trevor Perkins
Chase Bellman
Peyton Fleming
Dylan Maxwell
Zander Roope
Gavin Hicks
Will Kemper



Cannon Clark
Jake Chapman
Ayden Eckstein
Hudson Kohlman


Brayden Combs
Luke Thornton


Jake Hawkins
Joe Hawkins
Elliot Weber

South Dearborn

Nakia Scruggs
Blake Lagaly
Easton Schumann
Scout Gray

Team Champions: East Central

MVP: Brayden Combs – Lawrenceburg



East Central 13-1

A.J. Reynolds
Brayden Rouse
Joel Richter
Cole Reynolds
Moses Wheat

Batesville 11-3

Jack Grunkemeyer
Eli Loichinger
Chris Lewis
Carson Schneider


Connersville 8-6

Brady Cloyd
Kolton Deboard
Parker Flannigan


Greensburg 8-6

Justin Adkins
Leland Workman
Caleb Greiwe


Franklin County 6-8

Ben Becker
Braylon Kruthaupt


Lawrenceburg 6-8

Nolan Mclane
Dustin Shaw


Rushville 2-12

Keegan Bowles


South Dearborn 2-12

Adam Kunkel


Team Champions: East Central

MVP: A.J. Reynolds – East Central