Amrhein receives Sagamore of the Wabash

Ray Amrhein was presented with the Sagamore of the Wabash, Indiana’s highest honor. Mr. Amrhein was the first superintendent of the Franklin County School Corporation (1970-1983), among his many accomplishments. He was presented the award by State Sen. Jeff Raatz (standing to the right of Mr. Amrhein) on behalf of Gov. Eric Holcomb. (Contributed Photo)

FRANKLIN COUNTY, IN — The first superintendent of the Franklin County Community School Corporation was recently presented with the state’s highest honor.

Ray Amrhein received the Sagamore of the Wabash from State Senator Jeff Raatz (R-Richmond), who presented it on behalf of Governor Eric Holcomb.

In addition to serving as Franklin County Schools Superintendent from 1970 to 1983, Amrhein was on the IHSAA Board of Control and directed the building of an addition to Brookville Elementary; construction of elementary schools at Mt. Carmel and Laurel, and the Franklin County High School Athletic Field.

Following retirement, Amrhein joined the Brookville American Legion, serving two years as Legion Commander and Commander of the Firing Squad. During his years as a member of the firing squad, he participated in more than 400 military funerals for the veterans of our county. In 2013, he created the American Legion Scholarship Dinner which, to date, has awarded over $50,000 in scholarships to Franklin County High School seniors.

The Sagamore of the Wabash award states that the honoree is “distinguished by his(her) humanity in living, his loyalty in friendship, his wisdom in council, and his inspiration in leadership.”