Franklin County the latest in the area to switch to voting center system

(Brookville, IN) – Franklin County Commissioners approved a resolution to go to five voting centers starting next year.

This will reduce the number of polling precincts from 13, which means voters can cast ballots on Election Day at any of the voting centers spread throughout the county.

They will be set up at the following locations:

  • Batesville Ignite Church (formerly known as Church on Fire) on State Road 229;
  • Brookville American Legion Post #77;
  • Metamora Church of God;
  • New Trenton Volunteer Fire Department, and
  • Springfield Community Church.

Early voting will still be offered at the Franklin County Courthouse prior to Election Day.

The move means all four counties in the WRBI listening area have gone to the voting center system; Ripley County will also make the switch in 2024.

Dearborn County was the first in the area to take up the practice in 2019 while Decatur County adopted voting centers in 2021.

The Indiana Secretary of State’s office is encouraging counties to use voting centers to reduce the number of polling locations with traditionally low voter turnout and to make voting more convenient. It’s also allowed counties to save money by having to operate fewer polling places.