Franklin County FSA Holding Committee Elections

Michael E Kohlsdorf,  County Executive Director, Franklin County Farm Service Agency, announced the County Committee Election process for 2014 has begun with the announcement of the Local Administrative Area (LAA) boundaries and the posting of the eligible voter list at the FSA office.

This year LAA-3 in Butler, Highland, Ray & Salt Creek Townships will be conducting an election.   A map, with specific boundaries, is available at the county office.

The FSA County Committee is a unique and important partnership member with the USDA to administer the farm programs. Committee members are nominated and elected by their peers. Members serve a three year term and apply their judgment, experience, and knowledge when making local decisions regarding:

The duties of FSA County Committee members include:

  • Administering farm program activities conducted by the County FSA Office.
  • Informing farmers of the purpose and provisions of the FSA programs.
  • Keeping the State FSA Committee informed of LAA conditions.
  • Monitoring changes in farm programs.
  • Participating in county meetings as necessary.
  • Performing other duties as assigned by the State FSA Committee.

“We are seeking nominations from eligible voters to be placed on the ballot which will be mailed to eligible voters this fall”, Kohlsdorf said.  The nomination period is open from June 15 to August 1.

Nominating form FSA-669A, can be obtained at the county FSA office, or obtained electronically at here >>

Each form submitted must be:

  • Limited to one nominee.
  • Signed and dated by the nominee in Item 4. Nominee must sign if willing to have his/her name placed on the ballot and agrees to serve if elected.
  • Note: Name shown on ballot will appear exactly the same as in Agency records.
  • Delivered to the County FSA Office or postmarked no later than August 1.