Two local students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Megan Batta. (Provided Photo)

(Southeastern IN) – Two local students have been named semifinalists in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Megan Batta from Batesville High School and East Central High School’s Adalyn McDonald are among 16,000 semifinalists from across the country who were named by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Batta and McDonald have the opportunity to continue in the competition to receive National Merit Scholarships worth more than $28 million that will be offered next spring, according to the program.

Semifinalists were narrowed down from 1.3 million junior students across more than 21,000 high schools who entered the scholarship program in 2023.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, the semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level.

Adalyn McDonald and East Central High School Principal Tom Black. (Photo: East Central High School)

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to do so, with about half of those students earning the Merit Scholar title and a National Merit Scholarship.

The 2024 National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced beginning in April and ending in July.