Sunman Town Convention to determine officeholders taking place next month

(Sunman, IN) – A Nominating Convention for the Town of Sunman will take place August 12 at 10 am at the Sunman American Legion Post.

The purpose of the convention is to choose candidates whose names will be placed on the November ballot.

Four Republican candidates are in the running for three at-large Town Council seats. They are incumbents Don Foley and Carol Eckstein, plus David Laine and Randall Zins.

Two more Republicans filed to run for Clerk-Treasurer. They are incumbent Cheryl Taylor and Nancy Dobson.

A convention is being held in place of a regular election because no Democratic candidates filed paperwork to be placed on this year’s ballot.

Participating voters must be present when the convention starts in order to cast a vote.

The convention was scheduled by the Ripley County Election Division.

If you have questions, call the Election Division at (812) 689-4783.