OA Class of ’24 Earns $7.5M in College Scholarships

The Oldenburg Academy Class of 2024. (Provided Photo)

(Oldenburg, IN) – Oldenburg Academy is proud to announce the accomplishments of its graduating class of 2024.

The 37 seniors earned 121 college scholarships, for a combined total of $7.5 million.

The range of scholarships—for academics, community involvement, and future careers—highlights the graduates’ talents and interests.

Collectively, the graduating class also earned 1139 dual credit hours through Ivy Tech Community College, equating to $193,709 worth of credit.

In addition, 35% of the senior class earned the College Core 30. This certificate guarantees that 30 credit hours earned in high school will transfer to any public college or university in Indiana, representing a significant head start on the graduates’ college education.

Finally, 76% of the senior class earned the Indiana Academic Honors Diploma and over 38% of the graduates earned Athletic Academic All-State awards.

The OA 2024 Class Valedictorian was Sadie Wachsmann and the OA 2024 Class Salutatorian was Kate Weber. Both Sadie and Kate are alumni of St. Louis Catholic School, Batesville.

President Annette Hunger stated, “At OA, we pursue academic excellence and nurture well-rounded individuals. The achievements of the Class of 2024 are a testament to our seniors’ four years of hard work and the support offered by our faculty and community.”

OA would like to extend its congratulations to the students in the Class of 2024 who were presented with the following local scholarships and awards.

Ripley County Community Foundation:
Hill-Rom Scholarship – Kate Weber
J. Michael Hansen, MD Memorial Scholarship – Sara Lamping
Joe Shotwell Memorial Scholarship – Ellie Ryan

Decatur County Community Foundation:
Henry A. and Ruby Ernstes Family Scholarship – Alexandrite Simmonds
Don & Barb Horan Scholarship – Lauren Richards

Franklin County Community Foundation:
Franklin County Arts Council Scholarship – Amelia Crawford

Dearborn County Community Foundation:
Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship – Lily Dennis

Rising Sun Regional Foundation – Kate Weber and Chloe Bohman

Nora E. Wonning Trust Fund – Thomas Lohmueller, Kate Weber, Sadie Wachsmann

The Daughters of the American Revolution Twin Forks Chapter DAR – Lauren Richards

The United Way of Franklin and Ripley Counties Live United Scholarship – Chloe Bohman

Ivy Tech Community College – Indiana College Core 30 – Chloe Bohman, Jacob Cornelius, Lily Dennis, Thaddeus Eaglin, Rachel Lamping, Sara Lamping, Carson Phillips, Lauren Richards, Ellie Ryan, Lilly Schebler, Sadie Wachsmann, Gracie Ripperger, Claire Walke

Brenda Moeller Vogelsang Scholarship for Nursing – Rachel Lamping

The Margaret Strange Nursing Scholarship – Calvin Grote

The Margaret Mary Health Scholarship – Rachel Lamping

Great Plains Communications Customer Scholarship – Sadie Wachsmann

Great Plains Communications Family Scholarship – Ellie Ryan

Oldenburg Village Spirit Scholarship – Lilly Schebler

Sue Gulden Memorial Scholarship – Chloe Bohman

Decatur County Pork Producers Scholarship – Alexandrite Simmonds

The Fran and Gean Burst Educational Foundation Scholarship – Chloe Bohman, Ryan Geis

(Oldenburg Academy press release)