Decatur County native chosen Indiana elementary principal of the year

(Photo: Katie Smith)

(Bargersville, IN) – The 2023 Indiana Association of School Principals Elementary Principal of the Year is a Decatur County native.

Katie Crites Smith serves as principal at Union Elementary in Johnson County’s Franklin Community School Corporation, and is a graduate of North Decatur Jr./Sr. High School.

Smith was announced as the state elementary principal of the year at the association’s awards ceremony in Indianapolis on November 19.

“I was in a state of shock when I heard my name,” Smith said. “I am extremely honored to be selected. I know the other candidates were amazing principals and leaders, as well.”

Smith has been at Franklin Schools for 22 years after spending her first year in education as a music teacher in the Greensburg Community School Corporation.

She will represent Indiana at the National Distinguished Principal Recognition Program in Washington, D.C. in October 2024.