Batesville city officials sworn in at NYE ceremony

Former Mayor Mike Bettice swearing in Mayor John Irrgang.

(Batesville, IN) – Batesville city officials were sworn in during a ceremony at noon on New Year’s Eve.

John Irrgang was sworn in as the new mayor of Batesville. He was sworn in by former Mayor Mike Bettice.

Irrgang says he hopes to “enliven” downtown Batesville, with more options as to how businesses open and operate, and the creation of new spaces for them.

Mike Bettice, the outgoing mayor, served Batesville for the past 8 years. 

Bettice mentioned one thing he was proud of during his time in office was the new 16-mile pipeline in place, assuring Batesville of a clean, safe water supply for at least the next half-century, maybe longer.

Also sworn into their offices Sunday were Councilmembers Melissa Tucker, Darrick Cox, Doug Stock, Beth Enneking, and Brad Dreyer, as well as Clerk-Treasurer Paul Gates.

Michele Balser will continue serving as Deputy Clerk-Treasurer.