Batesville Chamber celebrates, hands out awards at Annual Dinner

(Pictured from left to right) Marie Dausch (Distinguished Service Award); Kim Porter on behalf of the Batesville Memorial Public Library (Organization of the Year); Cindy Weisenbach (Educator of the Year), and Eric Heppner on behalf of the Oldenburg Freudenfest Committee (Volunteer Organization of the Year). (WRBI Photo)

Batesville, IN — The Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce handed out hardware at its Annual Awards Dinner Thursday night at The Knights of Columbus Hall.

The theme of the event was “Celebrate a Night Full of Stars.”

After a welcome and introductions from Executive Director Melissa Tucker, Chamber Board President Jonathon Maple, and Chamber Board Vice President Melissa Burton, dinner was served and awards were presented:

New Horizons Executive Director Marie Dausch received the Distinguished Service Award;

Batesville Intermediate School 3rd grade teacher Cindy Weisenbach was selected Educator of the Year;

The Oldenburg Freundenfest Committee was honored with the Volunteer Organization Award;

And the Batesville Memorial Public Library is the Organization of the Year.

Also receiving recognition were outgoing Chamber Board Members Ben Peetz and Andy Jaisle.

The Batesville Chamber welcomed 43 new members last year.

In 2022, the Chamber sold $130,000 in gift certificates; $80,000 was spent at local businesses through the Chamber’s Holiday Passport Promotion, and $17,000 was spent at local businesses through the Chamber’s “Christmas in July” initiative.

For more information about the Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce, visit