Three local heroes recognized for saving a fellow fireman

Batesville firefighter Chris Baker, EMT Elizabeth Kruthaupt, Ed Scheele, and paramedic Ryan Everman.

Batesville, IN — Three Batesville firefighters were recognized in a private ceremony on Thursday evening for their heroic efforts in saving a fellow fireman earlier this year.

Ryan Everman, Elizabeth Kruthaupt, and Chris Baker were recognized for their actions during a house fire in April. Morris Volunteer fireman Ed Scheele collapsed and stopped breathing and went into cardiac arrest while on the scene of the fire. The three Batesville Fire and Rescue responders immediately began performing CPR and other life-saving measures on Scheele.

Everman, Kruthaupt, and Baker were presented with the Heroic Life Saving award from the Indiana State Fire Marshall. Joel Thacker, Indiana State Fire Marshall, stated that this is the first time this award has been presented in the State.