Special Olympics Indiana Ripley Ohio Dearborn Athletic Banquet Results

The 14th Annual Special Olympics Indiana Ripley Ohio Dearborn Athletic Banquet took place on Sunday, August 11th, at The Sunman American Legion. ROD Delegation Coordinator, Greg Townsend, hosted the event. Special Olympics Indiana President, Jeff Mohler, was in attendance. Special Olympics has been celebrating 50 years internationally last year and with Indiana this year.

Many friends of Special Olympics were recognized for their contributions. Mary Laub for driving the bus to The Summer State Games and Brenda Strimple for leading The South Ripley Schools for promoting Special Olympics. South Ripley High School, South Ripley Junior High, Lawrenceburg High School, and South Dearborn High School were also recognized for being members of Special Olympics/IHSAA Champions Together Schools in the area.

The 2019 Spirit of Special Olympics Award Winners.
Butterfly Award: Isaac Kramer
Volunteer of the Year: Donna Russell
Family of the Year: The Menchofer Family
Coach of the Year: Jesse Laub
Athlete of the Year: Alex Kiefer

Congratulations to all of the award winners. WRBI is proud to be a Media Sponsor for Special Olympics and for the upcoming Fire Truck Pull this Saturday, August 17th, at Lawrenceburg.