Columbus announces new police chief

Columbus, IN—Michael Richardson, who currently serves as the Columbus Police Department’s Deputy Chief of Police, has been chosen by Columbus Mayor Jim Lienhoop as the next Chief of Police. Richardson will assume the role of Police Chief on January 1, 2020, after Chief Jon Rohde announced his intention to step down from the position at the end of this year.

Michael Richardson is a life-long resident of Columbus and Bartholomew County and has served with the Columbus Police Department for nearly 25 years.