Franklin County school bus drivers recognized for longevity

Front row, from left: Linda Keith, Tracy Crawley, Kathy Settles, Roger McQueen, Jill Caudill Back row, from left: Curtis Oglesby, Jerry Esterkamp, Ron Bruns, Wade Thompson, Bruce Bergman, Ray Mergenthal, Clinton Lewis

Brookville, In. — Sixteen school bus drivers representing more than 320 years of combined experience were recently honored for their service by the Franklin County Community School Corporation.  The awards were presented by Dr. Debbie Howell to the drivers at the annual reorganization meeting held August 1 at Franklin County High School.

The recipients and their awards included:

5-year service pin – Bruce Bergman, Manya Ridenour

10 years (plaque)  – Tracy Crawley, Clinton Lewis, Rob Siedling

15-year service pin – Gregg Burris, Linda Keith, Curt Oglesby, Wade Thompson

20 years (clock) – Kathy Settles

25-year service pin – Jill Caudill, Roger McQueen

30 years (custom jacket) – Jerry Esterkamp

35-year service pin – Ray Mergenthal

40 years (custom antique collector school bus) – Ron Bruns

45-year service pin – Bob O’Bryan

In addition to celebrating the driver milestones, drivers at the annual reorganization meeting learn about changes to laws and policies, review industry best practices, discuss routing procedures, and receive mandated training on various topics.